GWAAR Board of Directors

Selected for their experience with aging issues and commitment to social activism, the following people sit on the GWAAR Board of Directors:

Lane Delaney, Chair, Gays Mills: Lane has been a nurse for 22 years and served 6 years as a member of the ADRC Governance and Advisory Boards of the ADRC of Eagle Country. She is a certified facilitator of advance care directives and is an active volunteer for the WI Blood Center, AARP, and has had 34 years' experience with the care of the developmentally- and physically-handicapped.

Wesley Martin, Jr., Vice-Chair, Green Bay: Wes is our Wisconsin tribal representative and is presently the chairperson for the Oneida Nation Commission on Aging and president of the Great Lakes Native American Elder Association and enrolled tribal member of the Oneida Nation.

Beth Esser, Spooner: Beth is a retired nurse and volunteers for several organizations in her community. She enjoys hunting and fishing—as well as quilting and enjoys time spent with her grandchildren.

Miki Bix, Medford: Miki has served on the Medford City Council, the Taylor County Board, and the Taylor Commission on Aging. While on the county board, she served on the human services board, the finance committee, the personnel committee, and many others. She is currently the secretary of the Aging and Disability Resource Center of the Northwoods.

Robert Borremans, Edgerton, Bio coming soon.

David Ostness, River Falls: Dave has been a St. Croix County Board Supervisor for five terms and is the Chair of both the Health and Human Services Board and the Transit Commission. He also served for six years on the Council on Aging and Disabilities, was a driver for Meals on Wheels. Dave serves on the Wisconsin County Association (WCA) committees on Health and Human Services and Transportation, the National Association of Counties’ (NACO) Transportation Committee, and has been on the board of the West Central Wisconsin Community Action Agency, Inc. (West CAP) for eight years.

David Hoberg, Shiocton, Bio comin soon.

Va Thao, Onalaska: Va is a wife, mother, daughter-in-law, and social worker. She was with La Crosse County Aging Unit for 8 years working with caregivers, older adults, and Hmong elders. She now has transitioned her role as a medical social worker at Gundersen Health System.  

Erwin Teichmiller, Treasurer/Secretary, Arbor Vitae: Married to Nancy for 53 years, Erv has three sons who are all married and seven grandchildren ages 7-18. He has been a Supervisor on Vilas County Board for five terms. He is also Chair of the newly-formed Oneida-Vilas Transit Commission.


Executive Committee (2019-2020):
Lane Delaney, Chairperson
Wesley Martin, Jr., Vice-Chair
Erwin Teichmiller, Treasurer/Secretary
Bob Kellerman, GWAAR Executive Director

Board Development Committee:
Wes Martin, Committee Chairperson
Lane Delaney
Herschel Ryales

Finance Committee:
Erwin Teichmiller, Treasurer/Secretary
Miki Bix
Robert Borremans