GWAAR Advisory Council

Selected for their diverse backgrounds—as well as professional expertise—the following individuals sit on the GWAAR Advisory Council. The Advisory Council’s role is to advise the Board of Directors on the area plan, be engaged in advocacy activities, and be motivated in making a difference in how the aging network responds to the needs of an increasingly older population.

David Denomie, Chairperson, Shawano:  David is a retired professor of communication from Marquette University. He was born in Milwaukee and lived there until retiring, having previously worked for the Milwaukee Public Museum. He served as a volunteer and board member in various community organizations. David is an enrolled member of the Mashiiziibii (Bad River) Ojibwe.

Kathy Gauger, Vice-Chair, Whitehall: Kathy has been a resident of Whitehall for 40 years. She began employment with the Trempealeau County Department of Human Services in 1983. She was also part of a team that wrote a grant to allow Trempealeau County to pilot an ADRC in 1998. Kathy retired January 2017 as supervisor of the ADRC

Doris Bakker, Neillsville: Doris has been a resident of Neillsville for 43 years. Her career as a registered nurse involved both clinical and administration in small rural, and large urban hospitals and high tech home care. She was elected to county board in 2008 and has served on law enforcement, emergency government, health, and Aging thru the Transition to ADRC committee which she chairs. While Doris is retired from active nursing, she has been a city health officer since 2008.

Nancy Gagnon, Middleton: Nancy is a lawyer who served many years as an administrative law judge and has served on a local school board and union board. Nancy joined the Advisory Council mid-2017.

Dave Lowe, Janesville: Dave is recognized throughout the aging network for his many years of public service to transportation system development. Now working as an independent consultant, Dave continues to advocate for specialized transit systems to serve the elderly and adults with disabilities.

Mark Weisensel, Oshkosh: Mark served as the Director of Aging for Winnebago County for 36 years and retired in 2019. He is now an active member of the Winnebago County Human Services Board. Mark lives in Oshkosh with his wife of 43 years.

Cynthia Welch, Menominee: Bio coming soon.